Seven Wrestlers Qualify For State

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

By Mark Sarles
Sports Editor

The individual wrestling sections took place on February 22-23 at Orono High School. The Orono wrestling team did not disappoint with five different wrestlers winning their weight class, and two second place finishes.

The wrestlers who took home first place were Nick Simafranca, Danny Striggow, Jake Schmid, Henry Beck, and Shea Albrecht. The wrestlers who got second place were Noah Arneson and Dave Wilfert. All seven of these wrestlers have advanced to the State tournament.

Of the wrestlers that advanced, two of them were given seeds at the state tournament. Nick Simafranca was given a 7th seed, and Danny Striggow was given the 1st seed.

These seven wrestlers now look to make a name for themselves at the state tournament on Friday, March 1st and Saturday, March 2nd at Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email